Cardinal Alternative Learning

Infinitely Tweakable Education. Because Learning is a Dynamic Process.

Hello Kitty Mummies and More

I’m thrilled to be starting Ancient History with Miss D!

  1. It’s fun to learn these great, big, exciting stories – what’s not cool about mummies and pyramids?
  2. I’m learning things I never knew I never knew, like why Upper Egypt is in the South (ok, geography is not my strong point!)
  3. It’s giving her amazing context for the stories of her faith – without any “drilling,” she can put the Red Sea in relation to the Nile Delta on the map

I missed a few great titles in the pic above, especially the fiction stuff like Bill and Pete Go Down the Nile by Tomi DePaola!

I wasn’t feeling very “project-y” at first, so did the easiest sounding activity – letting her smell a bunch of herbs, then choose a few to put in a bottle of oil we then left in the sun for a few days.  Ta da – embalming oil!  But the one project seemed to energize me for a few more.

Hello Kitty inside her wrappings and mask.  Why hello Kitty?  I didn’t get it at first, but Miss D explained.  Because of Bastet, of course!  And then the sarcophagus, with many intricate “hieroglyphics”…

Wrapped the week up with some math-y pyramid construction. (Yay, I skipped all the lessons about solid geometric shapes because she runs into cylinders, cubes and spheres plenty in real life.  Pyramids aren’t quite as commonplace!)

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

