Cardinal Alternative Learning

Infinitely Tweakable Education. Because Learning is a Dynamic Process.

Figuring Out 5 Years Old

I’ve caught myself commenting to several friends lately, “5 years old is kicking my butt.” Here are a few little “5 year old” situations from just the last 24 hours:

  • Gut-wrenching tears over losing a game of No-Stress Chess (or was it Spanish Bingo?)
  • Lying about the keys she’d snagged while visiting at her abuela’s house and trying to open a locked door with her new playmate/second-cousin
  • “D, why is there soap in your hair?” “Tio told me my hair was smelly, so I tried to wash it with soap and a washcloth when I was getting ready for bed.” (For the record, her hair was not smelly; Tio was kidding. Her feelings weren’t hurt; she was just trying to fix the problem. We had to dunk her head in the sink.)

The last one is what finally got me – this is just funny! She is trying so many different things at once, it’s like she’s a toddler again with a more skillful body and agile brain. She’s a mess, but I absolutely love her. Pray for me, people, that I can keep this sense of humor and shepherd this wayward little heart.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Figuring Out 5 Years Old

  1. I have a 5 year old too and she’s a trip! I’m looking forward to following you with yours to compare notes :)

  2. Rachelle on said:

    Wow, I thought I was the only one. 5 is such an amazing yet daily interesting age. praying daily for patience.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

